The Sacral Chakra

The Sacral Chakra is the second of the seven major chakras. Located just above the Root Chakra, the Sacral Chakra deals primarily with our ability of acceptance, connection, creativity, and sexual health. It deals with our sense of enjoyment and pleasure. This chakra continues the physical link of the Root Chakra, and is one of the three physical, matter-based chakras in the body.

In Sanskirt, the Sacral Chakra is called svadhisthana. It is located in the lower abdomen, just below the navel. This position connects it our sense of abundance and well-being. It can greatly affect the physical energy of the body, and when it falls out of balance, one can feel lethargic, tired and mundane. This chakra is often called the “Seat of our Emotion.”

Here are some symptoms of an unbalanced Sacral Chakra:

Symptoms of Unbalanced Sacral Chakra

  • Low libido
  • Addiction, dependency issues
  • Eating disorders
  • Kidney problems
  • Urinary Tract Infections
  • Intestinal, gall bladder, and spleen health issues

Element, Color and Sense Associated with Sacral Chakra

This chakra primarily deals in the fluid, changing nature of the water element. Like water, it reflects an every changing, malleable energy. This is also represented in its connection to mood, which inevitably varies at times for all people. Though this chakra is connected deeply to the root chakra, this difference in element can greatly affect how you balance your chakra.

The Sacral Chakra is associated with the color orange. Orange reflects a feeling of openness and changing (consider the changing tones of color in the fall – almost all pass through orange). Orange energy is also very sensual, and is able to transform mundane energy into more powerful, bright energy.

This chakra is primarily connected to our sense of sexuality. Because reproduction is a fundamental process of life, identifying and understanding your sense of sensuality and pleasure helps grow you emotionally. The Sacral Chakra also finds connection with our sense of taste. Eating bright, colorful foods (like citruses) can inspire the feeling of the Sacral Chakra and provide a balancing affect if you feel the chakra is out of order.

Tips for Balancing the Sacral Chakra

  • Take a trip to a lake or river
  • Spend time near or in the water
  • Practice positive affirmations – “I love life” and “I know that I deserve goodness and joy” are two examples
  • Practice mantra Vam
  • Practice fluid, changing yoga poses
  • Hula hooping, spinning, and other motion driven exercises stimulate this chakra

In the following section, we’ll look at the Third Chakra – the Solar Plexus Chakra.
For more information on the chakras, explore the complete guide: